Bicycle Fabrication Skillbuilding Part 0: How are you coping lately?

Motivation

If you haven’t been living under a rock for the last three years, you’re likely familiar with the various supply chain issues that have been plaguing just about every industry. One supply chain that has been hit particularly hard is Bicycles. Between skyrocketing demand, materials shortages, and COVID shutdowns in the places that make bikes it’s been quite difficult to get ahold of bicycle parts and frames lately. As someone who has a nagging compulsion (some would say addiction) to building up bicycles from frames, this has been frustrating to say the least.

Ah, but what if you could build your own bicycle frames? I am fortunate enough to have access to a decent TIG welder to do so, but there are a few skills that need to be mastered first. First off, I’m not that good at TIG welding. I’m not completely awful, but I have very little experience working with walls as thin as bicycle tubing- not to mention the complex shapes that tube intersections make. Rather than wasting a ton of time and money attempting this with expensive chromoly bicycle tubing, I’d like to start with some cheap low-carbon steel tube to practice TIG welding tube intersections. Before welding things together however, it’s important that the tubes fit together as closely as possible. This is called ‘coping’ or ‘notching’ or ‘mitering’ depending upon the crowd you roll with. A sane/rich person would do this with a milling machine or the appropriate jig with a hole saw attached. Unfortunately I am neither sane nor rich and milling machines and jigs that don’t fall apart are rather expensive so I will be attempting this with saws and files- you know, for fun. I won’t be going into this without help though as I can make templates in CAD for marking out the tubes and cut them with the Wazer!

Modeling in CAD